Social Web Mania – More Evidence of Dot Doom

There is no such thing as the ‘social web’ bandwagon. It’s a circus train. I’d like to introduce into evidence the following documents (links) that I received over the last three days:

Me.dium.com – Me.dium allows you to see, in real time, other me.dium members that are visiting the same page you are on. Is that useful? Not to me and me.dium has another downfall, that cutesy little period that breaks up ‘medium’ into two sections of an otherwise perfectly useful word.

8apps.com – Bills itself as social networking for productive people.

Add a contact in Handshake and suddenly a world of collaborative functionality opens up. Share task lists in Orchestrate, brainstorm together in Blueprint. The list goes on and is growing as we speak.

Here’s a little something I learned in the service; ask one guy to dig a hole, you get a hole, ask two guys to dig a hole and it takes twice as long, as three guys to dig a hole and you get no hole and you have to ask another guy to go find those three.

Minti.com – A social network site for parents. Parents can share advice about raising children. Something parents used to do long ago with people referred to as ‘friends’, or their parents. But hey, if you’re looking for advice on how to raise children, the Web is the first place I’d recommend. Brought to you by the same people that brought you OutDoorzy, FuelEmpire and MommyBuzz, but definitely NOT MDJunction. ; )

Boompa.com – Love cars? Boompa might be the place for you. Share photos of your car(s) and set up your own message board or blog.

Ning.com – Create your own photo and video sharing blog. It’s the fast and easy way to create custom social websites! I think that’s been done before. Blog/Flickr/youtube Mashup.

Ratepoint– A people-powered rating system. Just like, Digg! Oh, wait a minute, there’s a difference. Ratepoint has no thumbs. It’s a numerical scale from 1-5.

Hublounge.com – Hublounge offers, ‘virtual global networking’. Seemingly disappointed by angst-ridden youth spewing vitriolic comments while they twiddle their collective Digg thumbs, Hublounge looks a bit more upscale, made to appeal to young urban professionals.

Hublounge.com is an organizationally-driven networking platform that mirrors real-life social interaction in a virtual space. Through 5 hubs: Professional, Special Interest, Social, Cultural, and University/College Alumni, members are able to create their own lounges, join an existing lounge, or set-up a lounge for free for their own special interest or non-profit organization and its members.

Those are just a few of the alerts I received about the social Web over the last three days. There are 39 more of them, all similar to the above, in my inbox.

One of the major differences I see in this boom and the first boom is the cost to entry is significantly lower. The technology is cheap, programming rates are cheap, domain names are cheap, etc. Probably a good thing as I don’t believe there are enough people to provide the mass needed for all the social sites that are launching.


  1. The question I have is this: Is it the same crowd using each social app?

    I know that sounds ridiculous, because there must be some different people out there using different things. But I just wonder, I really do, because if I weren’t fairly serious about blogging, I wouldn’t be trying to explore more and more of the Web to find an audience. And I don’t really know what the incentive to use different social apps is, at some point.

    I dunno. Just a thought.

  2. DG

    I am sure some user sets overlap. Early adopters tend to be adventurous. There also has to be quite a bit of testing going on to see what communities are a good fit, the ones that don’t meet the criteria are abandoned.

    I’d also hazard a guess that a large majority of the Web is nothing more than abandoned space littered with bits and bytes left by people that never plan on returning to the places they’ve left behind.

  3. Off-topic: Thank you, DG, for the wonderful comment you left on my “Blog Bling” post. I found it really thoughtful, and one thing about me is that I prefer when people read too much into things, because to read too little into them is to risk missing the whole picture.

  4. Hi DG and everybody,
    ‘Brought to you by the same people that brought you MDJunction’
    and we didn’t even know…..

    cheers,
    roy
    one of the people that brings you MDjunction.com (and only MDjunction :-)

  5. DG

    Hello Roy! Thanks for the correction. I fixed the original post. I hate getting things like that wrong. I would like to hear more about MDjunction though. Especially since the site appears to predate the social media hype. The silver surfer boom is fast approaching, what impact do you think that will have on MDjunction?

  6. I’m not sure why every new site that comes out today that allows people to vote on something is compared to Digg. Just because people are allowed to discuss, vote and/or rate something doesn’t make them a Digg clone. Digg has user submitted news stories, thats it. Is amazon like Digg because they allow their users to rate/review products but just with a five star rating instead of thumbs up/thumbs down? No I think not.

  7. DG

    Hello Dr. J,

    Here’s my question, why does every new site that comes out today have a voting feature?

    What’s the main function of Digg? To allow people to rate news. What’s the main function of RatePoint? To allow people to rate Websites. What’s the main function of Amazon? SELLING things.

  8. Dr

    I would say many people check amazon for the ratings and then go and buy the product soemwhere else. I know I do. I check amazon all the time to read the user reviews, but I probably only actually buy from Amazon 10% of the time.

    What is wrong with having people vote on something? Isn’t that exactly the point? To have user input and that input is where the real value of community lies?

    Because two different sites allow users to rate something (whether its digg, or ratepoint, or riff, or amazon, or whatever site) that doesn’t mean they are the same or that they are clones of each other.

  9. DG

    Comparisons are inevitable if the site presents itself as “a people-powered rating system’. You’re right though, voting doesn’t make the site a Digg clone.

    What would you call Netscape? Or the plethora of Pligg sites out there? And what exactly is so exciting about turning the web into a ballot box for everything under the sun? Voting has been around forever, what is Web 2.0 about that? Does simply adding a voting feature make a website ‘Web 2.0’? Would adding a voting feature to this blog add value?

    Personally, I see the value in comments, like yours, much more than I see the value of a public ballot box.

  10. Very nice site! Good work.




Leave a Reply

