Convert Any Web Page To an RSS Feed

feed43Ever been to a site that didn’t offer a feed? Well, now you can convert that page into an RSS feed, then subscribe to it using a feed reader. You can use any news reader or online service that supports RSS 2.0 (all of them). Or at least, that’s what they say…

How does it work?

Feed43 engine converts free-form HTML or XML documents to valid RSS feeds by extracting snippets of text or HTML by means of applying search patterns, and then joining these snippets together using output templates to form user-friendly content of feed’s items. The principle of extracting specific data from source documents is also known as “HTML scraping”.

So, I tried it. Might have been the late hour, but I’m going to blame the results on poor documentation, poor documentation and, poor documentation.

Here’s the feed I tried to create: http://feed43.com/5516801441002415.xml I used Threadwatch as I can never subscribe to that feed.

The preview that I got in the preview window showed some ugly, but useable, links. When I actually tried to read the feed in SharpReader I got nothing but  ‘Threadwatch Latest’ 20 times and no links. I’m not impressed. Way too much work to get a feed and people simply aren’t going to spend the time to learn how to use it.


  1. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed
    reading it, you can be a great author. I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and
    will come back later in life. I want to encourage one to continue your great job, have a nice
    day!

  2. You post interesting articles here. Your website deserves
    much more visitors. It can go viral if you give
    it initial boost, i know useful service that can help you, simply search in google: svetsern traffic tips

  1. 1 Kay

    Kay

    I always enjoy coming to this site because you offer great tips and advice for people like me who can always use a few good pointers. I will be getting my friends to pop around fairly soon.




Leave a Reply

