Twitter- What Are You Doing?

 

None of your goddamn business! I really tried to keep from finding out what Twitter was. I knew it was some sort of social network, but that was it. Then a friend called me and asked me if I ‘twittered’. I resisted the urge to hang up, I resisted the urge to drive over to his house to see if he traded in his pickup for a powder blue Miata. (guys just shouldn’t drive Miatas) I simply asked, “What”?

He explained what Twitter was. I remain unimpressed. Why do people think that other people are interested in every second of their lives? In essence, Twitter is a platform that connects voyeurs with exhibitionists. Really sad exhibitionists. People that want to share with the world what TV show they’re watching, or that they’re walking their dog.

Aren’t there other avenues to express mediocrity? Are people really interested in the boring minutiae of other people’s lives? Or are they simply so stone-bored themselves that any alternative to their sad lives is welcomed? Twitter is just creepy. Don’t ask me to ‘Twitter’, I might just punch you for being nosy, ya freak.


  1. I’ve tried twitter and came to the same conclusion, however as someone pointed out to me, the criticisms against twitter are very similar to those leveled against blogs in the early days . So while it’s not for me I’m content to keep it on my radar screen for now.

    If someone had suggested to you 5 years ago that you’d be a blogger might that have earned them the same punch in the nose :-)

  2. DG

    Nah, I wrote in a journal for years and years, blogging is just a natural extension of that. Twitter is creepy.

  3. Exactly – http://tinyurl.com/2ejnm8

    Of course, this is also the generation that has to add caffeine to everything they drink. I was at the grocery store tonight and saw Rock Star Malt Liquor. Holy crap, it has caffeine in it!

  4. DG

    Beer with caffeine in it? It sounds nasty to begin with and do we really need wide-awake drunks? ; )

  5. Amen! Twitter is a little too inane for me.

    And beer with caffeine… sign me UP! Probably tastes better than Vodka/RedBull.

  6. Amen! Twitter is a little too inane for me.

    And beer with caffeine… sign me UP! Probably tastes better than Vodka/RedBull.

    Though I will admit to being tempted by Twitter… Scott Kurtz has one for his comic, and I’m wondering if having one will drive traffic to mine.

  7. DG

    Better get in soon, Twitter has all the hallmarks of a churn and burn platform.

    Beer and Caffeine? C’mon, can’t people afford proper drugs nowadays? Beer and Upjohns instead of beer and caffeine? ; )

  8. agreed! it’s worrying to think of all the teens growing up on that stuff..i mean no. one. cares. (except MAYBE fellow twitterers..). scary.

    also–
    “In essence, Twitter is a platform that connects voyeurs with exhibitionists.” this line is too good.

  9. DG

    Hello Elsa, I’d like to think that Twitter is the Web’s next pet rock. By next year, gathering dust and largely forgotten.

  1. 1 Friday Tea Time - 3/30/07 » TheMadHat

    […] * Twitter…I’ve been trying to avoid even looking at it. I think I’ll keep avoiding it. DG, are you sure you’re not a twitterer? […]




Leave a Reply

