Grab That File, No, Not That Kind of File

It has been weeks since I’ve had time to write, so hold on while I do some ‘splaining.

A young woodcutter had just married the granddaughter of an old lumber jack and was determined to prove his worth in the eyes of the old man. As they headed into the woods for the first time together, the young woodcutter was eager to start felling trees.

Soon the woods were filled with the sounds of ringing axes and falling trees. After an hour or so, the young woodcutter noticed the old man sitting on a stump mopping his brow. Smiling, he continued swinging his axe.

Throughout the day the young woodcutter noticed that the old man would take a rest every so often, sitting quietly on a stump for a few minutes. Every time the old man rested, the young axeman would swing his axe faster.

Before dusk, they both stopped to tally the felled trees. The young woodcutter was amazed to find that the old man had felled more trees than he had.

“I don’t understand”, he exclaimed, “you took several breaks, sitting on a stump, and I continued working all day without a single break”.

“How did you fell more trees”?

The old man replied, “While I rested, I sharpened my axe”.

Thank you for having the patience to sit through my little paraphrased story. I needed some time to sharpen my axe.

Information retrieval science is moving forward, lots of people are interested in what Google and Yahoo are doing now. I’m interested in what they will be doing a year from now, or two years from now. Hopefully our interests will collide. ; )


  1. Good to have you back

  2. DG

    Thanks Yoav, it’s good to be back. I’m still digesting the huge amount of information I received over the weeks. Look for some posts on instant response dial testing, word choices and idea manipulation via word usage.

  3. Kirby

    “idea manipulation via word usage”

    That’s funny. I thought you were into using fewer words when possible. You used 5 words instead of just two – “webmaster guidelines”.

    Glad to see you “back in the saddle” (might as well add that one to your list). I need my fix of intelligent thought.

  4. DG

    ; ) Heya Kirby, I like ‘back in the saddle’, but it is overused. Lots of expressions come from the equine world.

    Grab the reins, got the bit in his teeth, spur them on, flog a dead horse, frothing and fuming, wearing blinders, neck and neck, by a nose, even ‘for want of a nail’.

    You’ve set the bar high by the way, ; ) My ramblings need to be intelligent now? I’m off to read some more books…




Leave a Reply

