Blog Tag Game

Okay, Scott got me into this. The idea is to share five things about yourself that people may not know, then tag five bloggers so they can rinse, lather and repeat.

I was tagged by MarketingGuy, who was tagged by Aaron Shear,who was tagged by Avinash Kaushik. The game was started by Jeff Pulver.

I’m going to pass it on to David Gagne, Graywolf, Stuntdubl, Aaron Wall and That Girl From Marketing.

So here are five things you may not know about me-

1. I rode a bull named Fred for 7.2 seconds in an amateur rodeo competition. I haven’t fully recovered yet. ; )

2. I read a book a day, every day. If the book is good, I may read it every day for a week.

3. I like to shoot. In fact, I shoot so much that I had to learn to reload my own ammunition. When I have time, I dress up like an Old West cowboy and take part in a competition called Cowboy Action Shooting, or CAS.

4. I studied magic/slight of hand/illusions when I was in my twenties. Doves crap on you when you have them ‘loaded’. I produced a dead dove at a child’s party. I made its wings flutter and no one realized it was dead. I can still push a cigarette through a quarter and hand you the quarter to examine when I’m done.

5. One of my bookshelves in filled entirely with dictionaries. Some of them are in languages I can’t read. I still try to read them or find patterns in the words. And a bonus item- I have a bookshelf in my bathroom.

Tag! Yer it!


  1. A book a day, every day! I am not sure if that is scary or impressive, maybe both! A great list Dean, thanks. -Avinash.

  2. DG

    I think it sounds more impressive than it is, Avinash, some of the thinnest books have the best information in them. I also have ‘annuals’. I read Tolkien’s trilogy once a year, every year and have since I was fourteen. Same with Jack London’s Call of the Wild and The Sea Wolf and Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women and Little Men.

    Then there are the books I read daily sections from until I’ve read the complete book.

  3. Interesting you got the right combination of tagging the “right people” at the “leading edge” to get a wide spread. It does get a little muddied down below do to duplicate tagging, but very interesting none the least

    http://www.soloseo.com/blog-tag-tree.html

  4. More and more people are caught by this game. :)

  5. dvg

    I still have some misgivings about associating with someone other than myself who uses DG as a sometime moniker.

    The reading thing slays me. A book a day? Crikey, dude.

    I plod along much slower than her. My comprehension scores at something like 99%, though, and my retention is as close to photographic as is probably possible.

    At least once each year I re-read The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy trilogy (all five books of it), Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency, The Vampire Lestat, and Lempriere’s Dictionary. A couple of other ones make the list as well. I’ll see if I can give you a full self-annual-bibliography at some point.

    Have I recommended Lempriere’s Dictionary to you yet? If you haven’t read it yet you should definitely get it.

  6. DG

    Definitely have to get Lempriere’s Dictionary. So far, my absolute favorite dictionary is Ambrose Bierce’s, Devil’s Dictionary. ; )

  7. The reading thing is heartening considering the first of Shoemoney’s five revelations when he was tagged: “I have never read a book in my life from cover to cover.” Good reminder that the SEO community is diverse and shouldn’t be stereotyped.

  8. DG

    I can’t imagine not reading an entire book once begun. Boring or poorly written books often have little nuggets of wisdom. I had a grandfather that never a book though. He started working at age 6 and never learned to read.

    When I stayed with my grandparents over the summer he asked me to read the newspaper and the bible to him.

    The best thing to come of this game is the illustration of vastly different people, lifestyles, backgrounds, etc. Thanks for stopping by Xensen.

  9. Nice Blog.. Useful Information

  1. 1 Five Things You Don’t Know About Graywolf

    […] All right so I was tagged by Dean aka Digital Ghost who was tagged by Marketing Guy who was tagged by Aaron Shear who was tagged by Avinash Kaushik who was tagged by the starter of this whole thing Jeff Pulver (I’m glad I only had to write that and not say it, whew). The object is to reveal five things about yourself everyone may not know. […]

  2. 2 Blog Tag - 5 things You Didn’t Know About Todd Malicoat - Stuntdubl - SEO Consultant

    […] Despite it being the equivalent of an e-mail chainletter – it’s a fun meme – and it’s a great way to get to know some folks of the web. Ben Wills “blog tagged” me, so here goes. After a bit of hunting, I was also tagged by DG. Props to Jeff Pulver for starting the fun little viral game. […]

  3. 3 LittleAmerica.us » Tag, I’m it!

    […] It all started with Jeff. A Bunch of people tagged eachother, and then this string started: Dave tagged Avinash. Avinash tagged Aaron. Aaron tagged Scott. Scott tagged Dean. Dean tagged Graywolf. Graywolf tagged Lisa. Lisa tagged Kim. Kim tagged Sophie. Sophie & Debra tagged Peter. Peter tagged John. John tagged Cricket, and now Cricket has tagged me. So now I have to come clean about 5 things that y’all don’t know about me… […]

  4. 4 Blog Tag And The Viral Nature Of The Blogosphere - TheVanBlog

    […] Dean Bloomsfield – 12/14 […]

  5. 5 Basil's Blog » Blog Archive » Blog-Tag: A Game for a Virtual Cocktail Party

    […] who was tagged by Graywolf (Graywolf's SEO Blog) who was tagged by Digital Ghost (Speaking Freely) who was tagged by Marketing Guy (Fused Nation) who was tagged by Aaron Shear who was tagged by […]

  6. 6 Enquête sur la tague : Video drole image comique jeux photo fun

    […] reçu de Kim qui l’a reçu de Lisa qui l’a reçu de Graywolf qui l’a reçu de Dean qui l’a reçu de MarketingGuy qui l’a reçu de Aaron qui l’a reçu de Avinash qui […]

  7. 7 Blog Tag And The Viral Nature Of The Blogosphere | TheVanBlog

    […] Dean Bloomsfield – 12/14 […]




Leave a comment