Google Webmaster Tools – Report Paid Links

Google gets more aggressive confronting the challenge of identifying paid links-

Just posted at WMW- Report Paid Links – New In Google Webmaster Tools

This morning I discovered a new tool on the frontpage of my webmaster central account — Report paid links – Oliver Henniges

So how accurate do you think those reports will be? I suggest reporting every page you see that contains an Adsense ad. Or any advertisement for that matter.

If you’ve ever wanted confirmation that paid links work, this is it. For more on Google’s link issues, see In Links We Trust – How Google Reshaped The Web.


  1. Joe

    And I mean you’re =D

  2. DG

    Joe, read In Links We Trust. Adsense ads are responsible for more crap making its way into the SERPs than paid links. Pretty simple.

    It’s not about simply passing PageRank, there are a number of factors that come into play. Unfortunately, some folks just don’t seem to get it. Google created the demand for links, the demand inflated link values, we ended up with blog spam, comment spam, link trade email spam, MFAs, etc.

    My call to report ads was to illustrate what happens when Google asks Webmasters to report ‘paid links’. The smart folks will move on to better hidden paid links and the ‘problem’ as Google sees it, will continue to exist.

    You can call me a lot things, idiot just doesn’t fit.

  3. Dean, I really wonder…why do you allow such comments on your blog?

    First of all, they don’t bring anything useful to the conversation, then, honestly, the user experience lowers… because I don’t come on your blog to read that you are an idiot!

    Yes, I know, it is my first comment on your blog, but I usually don’t make comments unless I really have something to say. And here I am: I protest against freedom of speech for people who don’t respect each other.

    Now, my opinion about the topic: whether they pass link juice is irrelevant. AdSense links are paid links. Sure they have to be reported. Google doesn’t specify what kind of links to report. They just say “report paid links.” I am with you all the way.

    So if we love Google, and we want to make their jobs really easy, let’s start reporting. And our report should sound like… dear Google, there are X sites in your affiliates network. Guess what? They all sell paid links.:D

  4. DG

    Mihaela, thanks for taking the time to comment, and you made me change my mind about leaving comments that are disrespectful to remain visible.

    Now, let’s start reporting those paid links… ; )

  5. I love this site and just wish I was as smart as you guys but maybe I can at least give you a smile?

    The chance of a piece of bread falling the buttered side down is directly proportional to the cost of the carpet. :)




Leave a comment